top of page

I Am A Superhero


They named me Richard. A nice enough name, I guess, but not one I really took to. I preferred my alter ego, Rachelle. In case you haven't already figured it out, I am transgendered. I was born with a female brain that was stuck in a body that looked male. Since I was young, I suffered from bullying, at home as well as at school, because I was sensitive and mild mannered. An easy target. I had no friends because I did not like to do boy things and I was not allowed to do girl things. If I did that, I would get picked on even more.

So I suffered a life of depression in silence. But as I got older, I found a way to alleviate the pain. It had come to me that to be happy in this life, I had to change my gender. It was a long process, one that I had to take care of on my own, with a little help from my friends. But with time, and love, and hard work, I did it. In June 2010, I started my life as a woman and in June 2011, I had gender reassignment surgery to complete the process. Since everybody called me Ricky (or Rick) already, I adjusted the spelling and became Rikki. The true me. The stronger me.

The most surprising thing I discovered after I finished my transition, is how many people had commented on how brave I was. Including my mother, some aunts and cousins, and some co-workers. I didn't really feel brave, I only did what I had to do to survive. Maybe that does make me brave. But what it did do for sure, was give me the strength and energy to help other people; those who are transgendered and/or those who have transgendered individuals in their lives.

I wrote a children's book called “Muffy was Fluffy” that tells the tale of a kitten who cannot understand why she has difficulty living the kitten life, and comes to understand that she is really a puppy that looks like a kitten. With the help of her owner and doctors, she completes her transition. I wrote this book to help children understand why a loved one, like a parent, must changed their gender. It can also be used to help those children who self-identify as transgendered, to know that they are not alone.

I also speak at workshops and schools. I help guide young people who are trying to find their way as their true selves. I offer knowledge on what it means to be transgendered. To take the mystique out of it, because I believe that if people understand what we go through, they will likely accept our changes and still love us for who we are. It worked for me.

So why do I do this? I certainly don't do it for the money, because I haven't made any. I do it to help. I do it to stop the bullying; so that children can live free without depression. I do it so that being transgendered is no longer looked down upon; so that we can wear the clothes we want, regardless of who they were made for. I do this, to stop the suffering. And if I can help one child live a happy life and avoid committing suicide, then my job here is done. And saving lives and helping people have a happier existence is what makes me a super hero.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
RSS Feed
bottom of page